Auto Accidents Rental Cars

Insurance Companies Do Not Automatically Accept Liability

In a perfect world, the other party’s insurance company would pay up-front for your rental car. However, most insurance companies will not accept liability for an accident until they have completed an investigation. When you call them to report your claim, they will advise you to go ahead and pay for a rental car and they will reimburse you if they determine it was their insured’s fault.

Investigation of Liability Might Take Two Weeks or More

The amount of time it takes to complete their investigation depends upon the individual adjuster and the cooperation of their insured and/or witnesses to the accident. In the event their insured denies fault, they will wait for the police report, which generally takes 7 to 10 days, and then take recorded statements of witnesses identified in the report before they make a decision about whether to accept liability for the accident. This could take over two weeks.

Rental Insurance

If your automobile policy provides rental car coverage you can use it for up to 30 days under most policies. This will prevent you from paying out of pocket and your insurance company will go after the other insurance company to get reimbursed for the money they paid for your rental car.

Pay Out of Pocket

If you don’t have rental car insurance and you need a rental car immediately, you might have to pay out of pocket until the other insurance company determines liability or the case settles. Please be aware this could take weeks or months because insurance companies delay payments as long as possible.
Alexander Law Firm Rental Car Assistance.

The Alexander Law Firm understands that our clients must have transportation to get to work, make doctor appointments, get necessary rehabilitation sessions, and get their kids to school. In most cases*, we can help you get into a rental car by paying up front for 10 days of rental. This will prevent any charges to your credit card or require any out of pocket money from you.

The Alexander Law Firm does not charge a fee for handling property damage and/or rental car claims when we represent you for personal injuries arising out of the same accident. These services are provided as a courtesy to our clients.

Please call our office now for a free consultation at 1-800-350-5110. You owe it to yourself to know your rights so you can make an informed decision.

About the Author: Greg Alexander

Greg Alexander is a graduate of South Texas College of Law and has been successfully representing the people of Greater Houston and the surrounding area for over 20 years. He is a member of the State Bar of Texas, Houston Bar Association, Texas Trial Lawyers Association and the Houston Trial Lawyers Association.